Coming Out of the Chaos-Waters

Under the Rose

Epiphany 1: The Baptism of Christ

Isaiah 42:1-9

Psalm 29

Matthew 3:13-17

I was baptized as an infant on June 18, 1967, in St. Joseph’s Roman Catholic Church, Norman, Oklahoma.  My godparents (pictured) were longtime friends of my parents who had six children of their own.  My godfather, Dr. B., was a respected doctor in Oklahoma City, and his wife was a dedicated full-time mother.  All during my childhood, I remember us taking the annual pilgrimage on New Year’s up to Oklahoma City to visit my god-family.  Dr. B. even saved my mother’s life at one point.  She had a throat infection that persisted for weeks, resisting all treatment with antibiotics.  She finally went to my godfather about it.  He immediately had her admitted to the hospital and had a giant blister excised from her throat.  Without the surgery, the infection would have gone into her bloodstream and, in all…

View original post 741 more words

Leave a Reply

